In the European Union there are 24 official languages ​​that are both working languages ​​, namely English, Bulgarian , Croatian, Czech , Danish, Dutch , Estonian , Finnish, French, Greek, Spanish, Irish , Lithuanian, Latvian , Maltese , Dutch , German, Polish , Portuguese, Romanian, Slovak, Slovenian, Swedish , Hungarian and Italian.

The first Community Regulation on official languages ​​was adopted in 1958. It established the first official and working languages ​​of the EU – French , Dutch , German and Italian – the language of the first Member State. Since then, the number of official languages ​​to grow, as the EU have joined other states . Official languages ​​is less than the Member States , since some of them speak the same language. For example, the official languages ​​in Belgium are Dutch, French and German , and the majority of the population of Cyprus speak Greek, which has the status of an official language .
Status of an official and working language means:
1.  Every these languages, you can upload documents to the institutions of the EU and each of them an answer ,
2.  EU regulations and other legal documents are published in the official languages ​​, as well as Official Journal .
Due to the limitations of time and money relatively small part of the working documents translated into all languages ​​. The European Commission English, French and German are commonly used for procedural languages ​​, while in the European Parliament documents are translated into the various languages ​​of the needs of MEPs .

Linguistic diversity is a democratic and cultural foundation of the European Union , confirmed in Art. 22 of the Charter of Fundamental Rights of the EU.Under the Treaty of Lisbon , the EU

 ” shall respect its rich cultural and linguistic diversity , and shall ensure the protection and development of cultural heritage .” right of existence of linguistic diversity is applicable rule in the EU institutions . The EU Treaty has the same meaning in all versions of the official languages ​​of the EU (Article 55 TEU). Every citizen has the opportunity to write to each EU institution and receive an answer in the same language , which posted a question (Article 24 of the Treaty on the Functioning of the EU).

The EU encourages all its citizens to be multilingual; specifically, it encourages them to be able to speak two languages in addition to their mother tongue. Though the EU has very limited influence in this area as the content of educational systems is the responsibility of individual member states, a number of EU funding programmes actively promote language learning and linguistic diversity.
The most widely spoken mother tongue in the EU is German, while 51% of adults can understand English. All 24 official languages of the EU are accepted as working languages, but in practice only three are used most often: English, French, and German. Of these, English is the most common. French is an official language common to the three cities that are political centres of the Union: Brussels (Belgium), Strasbourg (France) and Luxembourg city (Luxembourg). Catalan, Galician and Basque are regional languages that have an official status in the EU.

Deja un comentario